You’re Stronger Than You Know

There are many times when you look at this big event or hurdle in front of you and go, “Um, that’s never going to happen. Have you met me?” It’s one of those times when you have look ahead, see a mountain, and find a neat little side path that doesn’t go to the top of the mountain at all right next to the difficult mountain path. I know I’ve been a traveler on that side road plenty of times. So, when I saw a road that went to Peru right next to the comfortable little side street called Alabama, I had a choice. Do I choose the easy road or the uncomfortable one? The first doubt that popped in my head was, “I’m not strong enough.” Now I can say, I was wrong about that.

You are stronger than you think. This is the phrase I heard way before I got on that plane ride to Peru. I had family members, friends, and even people I just met tell me this phrase. Now did I believe them? No, but they had a strong word that would mean so much to me after I got on that plane. I now know that yes, I am stronger than I know. Now you can say, wow the missionary is praising herself, but first let me explain something. I, nor you, have any strength. We are completely weak beings. What I found here in Peru through this internship is that strength, undeniably powerful strength, comes from God alone.

“I lift my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot be moved; He who keeps you will not slumber” (ESV, Ps. 121. 1-3).

I’ve read this verse a ton, but when it hit me hard was when we were on our mission trip to Arequipa. Now I must say when I read this verse, mountains surrounded me, which adds to the “read all the verses about mountains while by a mountain” stereotype, but it made me think about this. The mountain shows the strength of God, and through God we are able to take that difficult trek up the mountains in our life. I was faced with two paths, comfortable and uncomfortable, and I choose the mountain path straight to Lima, Peru. On that path I was able to find my strength in God and finally see that I am stronger than I know.

-Madison Luna, Intern Fall 2015

Leave a Reply

